I Am A - Columbia MSW Student, Ask me anything?

MCSW23

In case anyone had any lingering questions. I was accepted for Fall 2020, deferred to Fall 2021 and am currently in my second semester, but declared everything for my second year. 

Hi! 
I have been accepted to the MSW programs at Columbia and NYU and I am very torn between which one I should attend. I am hoping to eventually get my LCSW and enter private practice. Do you like Columbia's MSW program so far? I am nervous about the statistics requirement because I am not the most math minded. Also, I am in the process of appealing my financial aid scholarship from Columbia. Do you know if people can actually receive more scholarship from their appeal? THANK YOU!! 

On 2/19/2022 at 3:52 PM, kaywass1000 said:

Hi! 
I have been accepted to the MSW programs at Columbia and NYU and I am very torn between which one I should attend. I am hoping to eventually get my LCSW and enter private practice. Do you like Columbia's MSW program so far? I am nervous about the statistics requirement because I am not the most math minded. Also, I am in the process of appealing my financial aid scholarship from Columbia. Do you know if people can actually receive more scholarship from their appeal? THANK YOU!! 

Hey there!

I think our MSW program experiences depend pretty heavily on field above all else. Classes are all the same curriculum across the board for streamlined approaches, so it's important to research professors before taking any section. Honestly, my last semester was BAD due to bad field placement and some dry professors, but this semester is a 10/10. It waxes and wanes; plus they say first semester is the hardest at CSSW. 

I waived out of statistics, but I do know people who went through it and everyone made it through! I promise it's very elementary level. 

And yes! I appealed my financial aid even in the middle of the year and was rewarded more money. 

• 1 month later...