Advice on Statistics Master's Program for Future Business PhD Admission

theway343

Brief Introduction

I am a recent graduate from the University of Michigan (Ross School of Business) who will enroll in a Statistics Master's program this upcoming fall. My ultimate career goal is to gain admission into a respectable business PhD program (most likely in the department of Management & Organizations or Technology & Operations), as I believe that academic research and teaching is the best alignment for my personality and the type of meaning I want out of my life.

I am seriously considering two master's programs that I have been accepted to – Purdue University and Penn State University – and am having some difficulty in finalizing my decision (important to note: I have not received guaranteed funding for either program). I would love to hear any perspectives, insight, and/or advice that people may have on the matter, particularly after explaining my current thought process.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Purdue Overview

With Purdue, I have the option of choosing between the [1] M.S. Statistics in Mathematical Statistics/Probability and [2] M.S. Applied Statistics. Between the two, I lean towards the Mathematical Statistics/Probability track since it is possible to satisfy all of the courses required in the Applied Statistics track and the Mathematical Statistics/Probability courses are much more comprehensive and mathematically rigorous.

After communicating with one of the current students in the Purdue program, there seem to be many opportunities for research assistantships across departments (particularly within the business school), as well as opportunity to work in the Statistical Consulting Center – both of which would provide tuition waivers.

Ultimately, the pros would be: