International student worrying about the application process

Hi, I'm new here... I've read the first few pages of posts in this forum section, and decided to start a new topic. I'll start by giving you a bit of background about myself.

I'm an Egyptian student of French Language and Literature. I'm hoping to pursue a PhD in Comp Lit in the US. Mostly, I'm interested in the way literature and art can reflect, influence and eventually cause societal change, and I'd like to study this in a foreign literature and society (60s' France, or 80s' Argentina, possibly), and apply it to contemporary Egypt.

I have asked around and was told my research interests would be a good fit for Comp Lit programs who have an emphasis on Arabic and interdisciplinary research, and also for Near/Middle Eastern Studies program that have a literature track with a strong comparative or interdisciplinary component. Unfortunately, most such programs, especially the ones who offer full funding (which I need) are in the top schools. Thus, my application list for Fall 2011: Cornell (Comp Lit), Columbia (MESAAS), NYU (ME Studies) and Yale (Comp Lit). I contacted professors at each school, and all have expressed polite interest in my research interests and have been encouraging. However, I still haven't told them much detail about me as an applicant (I'm kind of... mildly embarassed? I don't want to seem whiny or bother them with my stupid, insecure questions.)