What can I do to strengthen my chances of acceptance?

traceyflanniganburner

Question

Hi guys, I am an incoming senior undergrad from Canada now worrying about PhD applications. I would like to aim for the top US programs in environmental science and geography (e.g. UCLA, Berkeley, Cornell, Columbia, UChicago) since otherwise my backup plan would be to do a masters in my same university under my current supervisor. I would love to have some feedback on my current resume, my chances as of now, and what I can do to increase them. My plan is to apply for a PhD in environmental science, with a focus on remote sensing or GIS.

• Demographics: Canadian Citizen (Asian male if that matters)

• BSc in Life Sciences at a large research university in Canada (I have done several envirosci and geography courses)

• cGPA: 3.93 (3.99 in my 3rd year)

• 1 Year of work experience as a research assistant in a remote sensing lab in my university

• 4 month internship at a large environmental company in the Philippines

• Co-author publication in a remote sensing journal (Impact factor: 2)

• 1 Presentation at a research seminar in my university

• 400+ hours of clinical volunteering

• Currently working on my 4th year thesis in forest-related climate change using remote sensing data and photography

1 answer to this question

2 hours ago, traceyflanniganburner said:

Hi guys, I am an incoming senior undergrad from Canada now worrying about PhD applications. I would like to aim for the top US programs in environmental science and geography (e.g. UCLA, Berkeley, Cornell, Columbia, UChicago) since otherwise my backup plan would be to do a masters in my same university under my current supervisor. I would love to have some feedback on my current resume, my chances as of now, and what I can do to increase them. My plan is to apply for a PhD in environmental science, with a focus on remote sensing or GIS.

• Demographics: Canadian Citizen (Asian male if that matters)