Statistics PhD, Fall 2023 Profile Evaluation

Hi everyone, I graduated this past May and am in the process of applying for Statistics PhD programs! I already posted my profile as a junior, but I will add an updated one. 

Through my undergraduate research experiences, I have become highly interested in the subject statistical machine learning (statistical properties of machine learning models). My advisors are recommending that I apply to "top programs," but I am worried about the competitiveness of the applicant pool. Does anyone have suggestions for safer schools I could apply to that also suit my research interests? I do not mean to brag, and I realize that I am very lucky to be in the position I am in. I am just worried about potentially striking out with my applications.

I appreciate any and all thoughts/advice.

My List

Statistics PhD: Berkeley, Stanford, Harvard, Carnegie Mellon, UWashington, Columbia, Penn, Cornell

Operations Research PhD: Princeton, MIT

Undergrad Institution: Top 5 USNWR
Majors: Statistics, Mathematics (double major)

GPA: 4.0/4.0 (major), 3.98 (cumulative)
GRE: 333 (169Q + 164V + 5.5)
Type of Student: Domestic White Male
Programs Applying: Statistics, Operations Research

Research Experience:  
  • Senior thesis: theory of neural network training, with a high-profile professor in my department
  • NSF REU: modeling PDEs via neural networks (have been working on this research for > 1 year, will result in a publication)
  • Applied Stats: did not publish, but produced some interesting results

Awards/Honors/Recognitions: 
Best Thesis in Statistics Department, Phi Beta Kappa, summa cum laude, other GPA-related things

Pertinent Activities or Jobs: 
  • Working as a research assistant at a well-known university during my year off between undergrad and grad school
  • Teaching assistant for three semesters in undergrad, both undergrad and grad courses
Coding Skills: 
Python, C, SQL,R

Relevant Classes, Grades: