Latin teacher applying for Teach For America

kittie

Hey there, bums!

I'm a Latin and Greek teacher interested in changing things up a bit in my life.

I'm applying for 5 phd programs. I already have an MA in Classics.

As a Plan C, I just submitted my application for Teach For America!

I'm very excited about it, but I'm not sure if the higher ups even want Latin/Greek teachers.

I know that they evaluate my transcripts, and I have quite a few Classics classes that centered on Literature, Mythology, Tragedy, and History.

Would they even consider me as a teacher of something other than Latin/Greek?

I know that Latin teachers are popular in big cities, but I'd rather be out in the country. I even put South Dakota and New Mexico as my top 2 choices because I like the idea of being in the middle of nowhere, living, eating, and teaching students on the reservation.

Anyways, it's a great opportunity and you should all look into it. It's basically peace corps, but for teachers and in the USA. You sign up for 2 years and you don't have to pay your student loans during that time. Plus, when you're done, they give you funds to help pay off your student loans. Not to mention the incredible experience you'll have teaching in a situation that is way out of your comfort zone!

ROWR

I'm sure that they would consider you for teaching English or History, and they are much more likely to need that than they are Latin or Greek. From those who I know who have done TFA, I don't think that it's extremely difficult to get accepted into the program. If you already have an idea of what it's like to teach and have a teaching philosophy, you'll probably ace the group interview.