Help me look for schools (Comparative, American or Public Policy)

Meldroc

OK, I'm completely and utterly confused by the multitudes of schools before me, and I'm looking for a few "dream schools" that I should be applying for to get a masters, and maybe a PhD.

I'm currently an undergrad, going to Colorado State University and going for my second bachelor's degree in Poli Sci. I'm doing pretty well now, with a major GPA of 4.0, and roughly a 3.9 GPA from the two semesters since I returned to school for my second degree. My academic record from my first degree isn't as good, but has the virtue of having taken place about ten years ago. I mentioned it to a few professors, who agreed that it was a problem, but since my current performance is excellent, they believe it's an surmountable problem.

I've taken the GRE, and did pretty well - Verbal 640, Quantitative 790, Analytical 5.0 - solid scores IMHO.

I already know my "safety" to "midrange" schools - I'm looking at Colorado State again - I know the Poli Sci department there, and I think I'll be able to get in there easily. I'm also looking at CU in Boulder, DU in Denver, and the very last desperate resort would be University of Wyoming - they have a masters program in Poli. Sci.

As far as going for dream schools or high end schools, I'm pretty damned confused on how to select them. There's the US News rankings, but I've been warned not to go solely by those numbers. I've also tried looking at sites like http://academia.edu/ to try to find professors interested in the same things I'm interested in, but find that not every professor is networked that way. I'm also not sure how to find schools where I have a fighting chance at being accepted. Sure, I might want to shoot for the moon on one school in hopes of getting a dream school, but I also want to find schools where I have a competitive chance at acceptance.