Low GRE Angst

Another newbie here with no were else to turn! I did not want to add another voice to the chorus of "Oh no! I'm worried about grad school!" but after actually taking the GRE test, I'm starting to panic. I'm an aspiring history student (UC-Riverside undergrad), and I felt like I had a really good resume until the test just shattered my confidence. I practiced and studied for months (intermittently, it must be admitted, but still) and I absolutely bombed the verbal. 640Q (higher than I expected actually), but an inexplicably piss-poor 580V score.

I don't know how this happened, considering I scored usually around 670-690 on the practice tests. Hell, at one point I took a practice test on a couch, with no scratch paper, and yelling roommates hovering about me and I still managed a 650V. That I somehow got 580 on the actual test simply baffles me. I have no idea what went wrong. Because of this, I'm worried about taking the test again (which I know I must). I know I have a very good vocabulary (not to sound arrogant or anything...), but I cannot see myself being able to prepare anymore for the test than I already have. And if not, I don't know how I'll get a higher score. If I take it again and still somehow get high 500's, low 600's, I'm afraid I'll compromise my application even further.

Before this, I was hoping to apply to some top of the line history programs--like Notre Dame (school of choice) or other UC's (like LA or Berkeley), and maybe even an Ivy League school just for the hell of it (along with the requisite back-ups, of course). But this Verbal score is much (much) lower than they would expect. I have to admit I'm looking for some guidance and reassurance here. How much damage would a 580V do to my application? Here's the rest of my resume, just for reference, I guess:

-3.9 GPA

-In the Upper Division Honors Program (working on senior thesis)