Electrical Engineering PhD Admissions Questions

law2grad

Hi, I've recently started law school after having completed a top 5 electrical engineering degree with a mediocre GPA (3.16). I had this wild idea that patent law would be for me but I'm having second thoughts. All the things that I'm learning about the law and patent law specifically are making me think that I might have preferred a career involved in innovation rather than "being on the sidelines." I just wanted to make some inquiries as to whether my poor GPA would bar me from admission to a good PhD program (I certainly don't expect it to be as good as my undergrad). I have several years of research experience in undergrad but it never led to publication. I would obviously be willing to do a master's program first if that is what would be necessary. I just want to know if a good school is possible and if it is, what type of GRE scores would be necessary.