Hard time finding three LORs! (non-traditional student)

KineticKid

Hi.

I'm a non-traditional student applying to grad school in physics (by non-traditional, I mean that I graduated from college years ago, worked a few years, then returned to school to get my bachelor's in physics. I got my physics degree in 2006).

I graduated with my BS and married a newly-minted physics PhD shortly thereafter (he was the theorist in our lab...how dorky is that?). For pragmatic reasons, I waited to see where he would do his post doc before I made my decision regarding where to apply to grad school (he didn't get his offers until after grad school apps were due). We moved to California for his post doc; not too long after that I found out I was pregnant (I was 29).

Since childcare is prohibitively expensive here ($1,500 and up per month), especially on a post doc or grad student salary, we made the very pragmatic decision that I would do the stay-at-home mom thing--taking courses when I could, etc.--and then apply to grad school when our kid was old enough for preschool...

Which is now.

My issue is that I'm having a very hard time getting three LORs. The prof with whom I did my senior project is now at a university in Europe and impossible to get in touch with. Another professor, with whom I had done significant research, RETIRED and has been traveling (keep in mind, nearly 5 years have elapsed since I was an undergrad). I could try to finagle a letter out of one or two other folks that I had good relationships with, but it might be a stretch to get GOOD letters from them, if you know what I mean, since I didn't really do any research with them.

That said, I know I will get a phenomenal letter from a local prof with whom I've been doing research this past year. This is the one good letter I can count on.