how many rounds does it take?

For the folks who are "already attending" -- did you get accepted in your first round of applications, or did you have to try a second (or third) time before you got in?

I realize this is partly a 'dumb' question because it depends on many things and will be different for each applicant, but I still thought it'd be useful to hear about. I'm currently finishing up an MA and this is my first time applying to PhD programs (5-6 schools in the top 40, 2 that are middle-ranking, and 2 safeties).

I got in the first time around, and so did most people I know (not to sound bitchy; that was just my experience).

<br style="text-shadow: none;">For the folks who are "already attending" -- did you get accepted in your first round of applications, or did you have to try a second (or third) time before you got in?<br style="text-shadow: none;"><br style="text-shadow: none;">I realize this is partly a 'dumb' question because it depends on many things and will be different for each applicant, but I still thought it'd be useful to hear about. I'm currently finishing up an MA and this is my first time applying to PhD programs (5-6 schools in the top 40, 2 that are middle-ranking, and 2 safeties).<br style="text-shadow: none;">
<br style="text-shadow: none;"><br style="text-shadow: none;"><br style="text-shadow: none;">

Second round - I was fresh from undergrad had no idea what I was doing the first time I applied. I know it was the same for at least one other person in my current cohort (at a top-20 school where I was rejected two years prior). I'm sure you understand it's not a matter of number of times applying, though, but rather how well your SoP and writing sample reflect your preparedness and focus. While I needed the extra two years away to figure out exactly what I wanted (and am ultimately glad I had them), it's probably best to do it right the first time around!

Edited by intextrovert