Recommendation from volunteer supervisor vs. professor

hkaze10

I will be applying for admission into a Master's program for archaeology that accepts only two letters of reference, and am having some trouble deciding whom I should ask for the second letter.

I am more than ten years out of university and have been working full time as a project manager in the design field since then. My current supervisor has already written a very positive letter or recommendation that outlines my experience and strengths, and how they would be beneficial to studying archaeology. For the second letter, I am trying to acquire a reference from an accredited person in the field of archaeology or anthropology because, aside from a minor in anthropology, I have very little background in those areas. The professor who would be my advisor, should I be accepted into my first-choice graduate school, has indicated that a reference from one of my undergraduate professors would be preferable, particularly because his department has ties with my alma mater.

However I doubt that my anthropology professors will remember me after such a long time, although I received high marks in their courses. I am leaning toward asking the director of excavations at the archaeological site I volunteered at this past spring. The director holds a Ph.D. in archaeology, and gives lectures at universities and archaeological societies in the area. He knew me by name, and thanks to the restricted size of the volunteer groups, was able to observe all of us closely. Before I left, he enthusiastically agreed to write a letter for me should I ever need one, so I know I would receive a good reference from him. The downside of this alternative is that I worked there for only two weeks, and not as a professional or academic, which may reduce the significance of the letter. I will be returning as a volunteer to the same site for another two weeks next spring.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.