Program Switch-Help!

mdmc

I am currently a sociology PhD student (undergrad: soc and pol. science, master's soc) and am planning out applications for a switch to applied stats/biostats. Unfortunately, I'm new to the field so I'm having a hard time figuring out where I stand and how good of a shot I have. My sociology work has been fairly quantitative but my actual math training is a little weak. I could really use some insight about programs I should be looking into and my chances of getting in. Here's some of my info:

GRE quant: 740

Undergrad gpa: 3.89; Grad gpa: 3.91

Highest "Formal" math training: AP calc in high school; am reasonably competent (through independent study) in most of the standard prerequisites, but might need a bit of a refresher (perhaps probationary admission?)

Coursework taken on: basic/descriptive stats, anova, regression, generalized linear models, categorical data analysis, multilevel modeling, structural equation modeling, some IRT

I'm learning C/C++

Programs I'm looking at (maybe too ambitious?):

Duke, Ohio State, Minnesota, WashU, Johns Hopkins, University of Michigan, Rice, UNC, University of Iowa, Rutgers

On 11/16/2010 at 3:52 PM, mdmc said:

I am currently a sociology PhD student (undergrad: soc and pol. science, master's soc) and am planning out applications for a switch to applied stats/biostats. Unfortunately, I'm new to the field so I'm having a hard time figuring out where I stand and how good of a shot I have. My sociology work has been fairly quantitative but my actual math training is a little weak. I could really use some insight about programs I should be looking into and my chances of getting in. Here's some of my info:

GRE quant: 740

Undergrad gpa: 3.89; Grad gpa: 3.91

Highest "Formal" math training: AP calc in high school; am reasonably competent (through independent study) in most of the standard prerequisites, but might need a bit of a refresher (perhaps probationary admission?)