How many years have you applied?

euges429

It's pretty usual that most people apply to PhD programs two or three years. It's hard to get into one, it just is. I got in this year, after 3 years of trying to do so. What about you guys? From the grad school notice list on thegradcafe.com, I've read that most people are like me too -- this year is their 2nd or 3rd attempt.

This is my first year, and I can see why people need two, three years or more to get into their dream programs. I was lucky enough to be admitted by a good program even though nearly all my top choices turned me down, so no need to go through that ordeal again until graduation and job-hunt, but looking back on the application process I now see trillions of flaws that could've been avoided, and in some other cases I should have been more aggressive etc.

Hats off to those that never gave up and congrats to everyone who ultimately succeeded :D

I find the most common one is the Personal Statement! Most people seem to say this. GRE's scores and GPA's are set, but it's the personal statement that is very subjective and can really sway a committee towards admitting you or rejecting you

In your Personal Statement don't re-write your CV (that was one of my mistakes), emphasize your research interests and how they fit with particular faculty in the department and spelling errors are a kiss of death (literally they take that very seriously!)

But honestly to me it doesn't seem like a lot of people apply multiple times. That seems like more the exception than the rule. I think this may be because people who are re-applying only applied to very few programs their first time around and maybe very few the second, then mix that up with very competitive admissions and possibly a beginners personal statement then you end up re-applying.