Worth applying with mediocre GPA?

turambar

Hi,

I'm an international Asian student with a 1400 GRE (770Q; 630V). I'm doing my MA in Political Science from a well known MA program in the east coast, with my undergrad from a big Asian university. I'm wondering whether it's even worth applying with a mediocre grad GPA? I have a 3.22 grad GPA after one semester of grad school. I have a A- and two grades in the B category. I guess I screwed up the final term papers since my class performance was pretty good. The letters of recommendation would be solid (two of them from my current university professors who taught the courses), so would be the SOP.

I'm applying across the board to some Top 20 schools and schools outside Top 50 but mostly in the Top 40-50 range. I thought I'd have a better GPA but I'm feeling pretty down and disappointed right now. Guess my 'target' schools (think Wisconsin, UPenn etc.) are now totally out of the reach. What do you guys think? Do I stand a chance even at the marginal Top 50 ranked places?

Edited by turambar

Well, given the cost/benefit of applications (a couple months and a thousand bucks against the chance of admission) I'd say you may as well go for it.

I can see your worry about the grades. In general, the MA GPAs we see around here are really high. I would do everything possible to raise the GPA in the future. If you are really confident in your class performance, I would consider speaking to the each professor about your grade and see about raising it.

I would agree with the person above. Go for it. Until you take chances, you are not going to know. Perhaps you will get in, who knows! Maybe your GPA will be compensated by your GRE, research, SoP and LoRs. Adcomms in different universities are looking for different things. So while you might have decent chances at some institutions, you have have great chances at others.