Choice between OXford and one US university

ACEFLY

Hi all,

several days ago I got the offer (PhD) from University of Oxford with full financially support, it is a good news for me. And I also obtained the offer from one Ivy university in the States. At present I am just thinking about which university to attend. My major is mechanical engineering, the sub direction is combustion and gas turbine. The research direction of the US advisor is relatively theoretical oriented, while the UK counterpart is much closer to the real world industrial projects. Honestly speaking, I incline to be a professor in the academia in the future. So, deal all, could you please give me some advice about this choice?

I also have some thinking about two universities:

(1) is the research environment much better in US than in UK, like funding, the gobal level of the academia?

(2) After graduation from the university, I would like to be a professor in a US university. If I choose to study in Ox, will it be comparatively hard for me to go back to US to find a position of faculty?

(3) In terms of the fame of Oxford or the US ivy university, which will receive more recognition in the academic community in UK and US?

Thank you very much and happy new year!

ACEFLY

God, you are spoilt by choice. :D

Based on the questions you ask and the way you ask them, I think you already made up your mind and just need reassurance. It is a very serious decision that you have to make on your own. Personally, I'd go for the USA. But that's 'personally'.

God, you are spoilt by choice. :D

Based on the questions you ask and the way you ask them, I think you already made up your mind and just need reassurance. It is a very serious decision that you have to make on your own.