Re-apply next year? ..Tranfer to better school?

LL2011

summary:

I decided to apply to grad school (very) late in the game last year (late oct 2010)- totally my fault. I have been accepted to 3 average schools and rejected from 2 top tier schools for FALL '11. One of the programs I got in (UMass Amherst) would be a great fit but not ideal.

Option A: Stick with Umass

Option B: Enroll at Umass, try to transfer after 1 semester or 1 year to a higher ranked school (is that even possible?)

Opition C: Don't go anywhere and re-apply for Fall 2012 (theoretically with a stronger application)

Background:

I only took the GRE once with a week's worth of studying (650 Q, 550 V, 4.5 W). graduated 2 yrs ago w/ 3.2 GPA, I have a little over 3 years of work experience (senior RA in pharma). The only redeeming qualities I had as an applicant was my senior research proposal (won school award) and 4 strong letters of recommendation.

I knew going in that all of this -by no stretch of the immagination- ranked me as a top candidate but I figured I didn't have anything to lose by applying to a few top schools (ie. MIT, Harvard, Berkeley). So far I've received 3 acceptance letters (NEU, UConn, Umass Amherst) and 2 rejections (Berkley and MIT... not in the least bit surprised). I'm still waiting to hear back from Harvard (99.9% sure I won't get in) and 3 more mid tier schools.

With that said; I find the program at Umass Amherst to be a great fit (of all the mid tier schools I've applied to); I have been in contact with a professor and a department head since Nov. and they both think that I/my project would be a great complement to their lab/department. This is all fine and dandy but I find MIT's program to be an even better fit for me (100% on the dot to be exact). But I did not get in..