Quantitative Researcher, get a masters or PhD?

ATLBEAR99

I'm trying to figure out what programs to apply for this fall and could use some advice. I graduated in Spring 2022 with a bachelors degree in "quantitative social science" from Emory University. My degree is pretty much a joint major between data science and political science. For the last year, I've worked as a data analyst for a policy research team inside a large national non-profit. I really love my job, as I get to do quantitative research on policy while also getting to do some "internal consulting" with our various programmatic teams when needed. I'm really happy being in this type of applied research role and would like to stick with this type of work, but just work my way up to being more of a research director running a policy research team. Obviously that's years away from now, but that's my general goal.

Pretty much everyone I work with has a graduate degree of some sort, mostly masters, but I have noticed on the research side of public policy there are a good number of folks with PhD's too. I fully recognize that I need to get a graduate degree to move upwards, but I'm really conflicted on which degree to get for a variety of reasons. I've been mulling over getting a masters vs Phd for awhile and I feel like both are reasonable options, but I'm not sure what is more ideal.