Fall 2025 Statistics PhD and MS Applicant Profile

I am currently a Junior in my undergrad program and I am planning on applying to programs this coming Fall/Winter. I want to gauge how realistic my list of schools is. I think I have done a good job spreading it out but many will know better than I do.

Undergrad Institution: Solid Private School in the West

Major: Statistics

Minors: Computer Science and Math
GPA:  3.92
Type of Student: Domestic (White Male)
GRE General Test: Haven't taken it yet

Research Experience & Recommendation Letters:

- None yet, but I will be working under a statistics professor doing some machine learning research this spring/summer

- One from a statistics professor who I TA'd for and had their class

- One from my manager (Analytics Intern at Fortune 500 Company)

- One from the professor I will be doing research for 

Schools:

Statistics PhDs

Reach - Carnegie Mellon, UNC, Duke, Michigan, Washington, Johns Hopkins

On Par -  NC State, Texas A&M, UT Austin, Illinois, Virginia Tech, Virginia, George Washington, Boston

Safety - George Mason, UMBC

---

Other 

Reach - Carnegie Mellon (PhD Operations Research), Carnegie Mellon (MCDS), MIT (Master of Business Analytics)

On Par/Safety - Georgetown (MS Mathematics and Statistics), BYU (MS Statistics), Utah (MS Computing)

Research Interests:

- Machine Learning

- Data Mining

*I am curious and open to explore other topics as well

I would love feedback on my profile. Am I in the right range of schools I am applying to? If not, what are your recommendations? Are there any weak points in my profile that need to be addressed?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Obviously I understand your desire for privacy, but can you explain a little more what a "solid" private school is - I'm guessing you don't go to Stanford/CalTech, but is your school on the level of USC or Pomona, or something like Gonzaga?