Hey Everyone! 

I am planning to apply for fall 2025. I don't know whether it is too early to start the preparations but I guess it doesn't hurt. I am starting this forum so that we can discuss application requirements, tips and other things. I also have one question, I have an undergraduate degree from Bologna compliant Uni of 3 years. I found different views whether it fulfils the requirements. While some unis explicitly mention that they accept it, some don't. Therefore, if you have any ideas please do share. Similarly, it would be great help if you could suggest some universities (NOT IVYS etc), preferably 50ishhhh ranking. My interests are popular culture, digital discourse, social media analysis, cultural sociology, narratives.

Also, I have 4 solo-authored research papers in open access journals. However, they don't have impact factor at all. Should I submit one of those which relate to my subject interest or should I submit a part of my thesis as a writing sample (ALL OF THEM RELATE TO MY SUBJECT INTEREST AND SOCIOLOGY)? Thank you. 

Hope to hear from y'all!!

As far as I know, the only U.S. university that requires a Master's in Sociology to apply for a PhD is The New School. For the universities, I'd recommend you do at least 3 things: 1) check professors' profiles and look where they work; 2) check rankings (such as U.S. news or Q.S.); 3) see the strengths of each department rather than the individual. Is very, very unlikely that they will admit you if you only want to work with 1 professor, in the U.S. the admission is departamental rather than individual. That being said, admissions processes are weird, discretional, and somewhat random to most people, and this is definitely true for non-U.S. applicants.