UCSB vs. Purdue vs. Dartmouth

PandemoniuM

The 415 is pending! Right now I am hesitating among these three institutions. My target program is Ph.D. program in Computer Science, and I have got offers from all these three. My personal preference is definitely UCSB, but Purdue is so good in engineering, so I don't really know which one to choose...

UCSB is sooo beautiful and it's in California (lots of opportunities, good weather...)...that's y it's indeed appealing to me.

Anyone with your opinions upon this, please help me make a decision! I really appreciate all kinds of suggestions and opinions!

Feel free to tell me what you think!

Thank you very much!!

Cheers,

Where are you from? I am from Southern California so I know UCSB well, and I interviewed at Purdue in February so I am a bit familiar with it. I'm not an engineer so I don't know about rankings- is there a huge discrepancy between these schools? Did you go visit them all? Which advisor is better? Based purely on location, obviously UCSB wins, though Santa Barbara is unbelievably expensive to live, I hope you got a great stipend! West Lafayette scared the $*@% out of me as it is approximately 1.25 hours from civilization. That said, it was lovely and the people I met were SO nice I can't even explain it. I am not going to Purdue but I left with a very good impression of the school, I think if you're from the Midwest or used to that kind of life it would be great. But being from San Diego, I think I would die in West Lafayette. Looks like I'm headed to Phoenix anyway!

Oh thank you so much for your opinions! That's exactly how im thinking too! Im not from the States, im Chinese, so yeah, part of the reason I choose to go to the US is to experience different lifestyles and cultures, and UCSB is definitely better than Purdue in this...

Thank you!