Interview - how much about art history and contemporary art criticism?

illum

Hello everyone. :)

I just found this forum today and it's been so helpful reading all the posts, and also just simply knowing that so many people are suffering through the same application experience as well! I applied to Yale (sculpture), UT Austin, Columbia, MICA, RISD and Stanford. So far I have one interview in late March. I heard that usually they ask you to present your portfolio for 20 minutes or so, and then have a general discussion with you. It's my first year applying, so I don't even have an idea what an interview is like. I wonder how much of the interview will be about discussions on art history or contemporary art criticism - anyone knows? Will they ask me to comment on certain artists / historical movements? Am I expected to throw names of contemporary artists here and there? Is it OK if I say things that are a bit more liberal artsy - e.g. telling them that my art is influenced by certain writers and philosophers, instead of directly relating my practice to so and so hot contemporary artists?

Very thankful for your reply!

Hello everyone. :)