GRE and TOEFL scores

edost

I'd like to get into a top-10 PhD program in political science, communications or cultural studies, and I already have two Masters degrees from Israeli universities. Here are my scores:

TOEFL iBT: 110 (perfect score in all categories, except for speaking, where I got 20 out of 30).

GRE:

Verbal: 620

Quantitative: 610

Writing: 3.5

My quantitative score is not very good, but I'm not sure how important it is in the fields I'm persuing. The verbal is good, I think. The writing is horrible, though. Do I need to retake the test because of the low writing score, or will the fact that I'm a foreign student (I have US citizenship, but I've lived most my life abroad) and the fact that I have two MAs make the GRE less important?

For top-10 Poli Sci. programs, you would probably be better to crack 700 in both v and q on the GRE. It is a highly competitive field and two Masters degrees won't help if you don't get past the initial weeding out phase.

I'd like to get into a top-10 PhD program in political science, communications or cultural studies, and I already have two Masters degrees from Israeli universities. Here are my scores:

TOEFL iBT: 110 (perfect score in all categories, except for speaking, where I got 20 out of 30).

GRE:

Verbal: 620

Quantitative: 610

Writing: 3.5

My quantitative score is not very good, but I'm not sure how important it is in the fields I'm persuing. The verbal is good, I think. The writing is horrible, though. Do I need to retake the test because of the low writing score, or will the fact that I'm a foreign student (I have US citizenship, but I've lived most my life abroad) and the fact that I have two MAs make the GRE less important?

For top-10 Poli Sci. programs, you would probably be better to crack 700 in both v and q on the GRE. It is a highly competitive field and two Masters degrees won't help if you don't get past the initial weeding out phase.

Your verbal GRE should really break 700.