General question on how to proceed in getting LORs

itsmi

Hi all!

How do you proceed in getting LORs? I'm a german student and it's not common in Germany to ask the profs. for LORs.

I heard that every University wants to have an individual LOR. So, if you apply on maybe 10 Universities, the recommenders do have to write 10 letters for each student? I can't believe that the profs are willingly to do that.

They also have to send it directly to the Universities, right?

I guess that this amount of work for the profs could be the biggest problem of my whole application.

I would be very happy to hear some experiences from other students applying for graduate admission.

Thanks a lot!!!!

Jochen

It is much easier than you think, Jochen!

1. You ask your professors for recommendation letters. As easy as that. Just send them a nice e-mail telling them if your life/career plans, which schools you are applying for, and how much you would appreciate a letter from them.

2. Professors normally send the same letter to all universities. Sure, this letter is personalized: they spend some time writing about you but it is only one letter. If you have a cordial relationship with your professor, you may ask him/her to further adjust each letter to a particular school (emphasize something specific for that school; leave a personal note for the faculty etc.). However, usually the letter they send out to different universities is the same.

3. Most schools now operate an online application system, i.e. all references are submitted electronically. When you register your application in such an application system, your professor is automatically sent a link with exclusive access to the section where he need to copy-paste a reference for you.

I think what you also may find helpful is being organized: