Stanford vs UIUC Mechanical Engg

abhishekj200

Hi

I have got an MS admit from Stanford ME without any financial aid and a fully funded MS offer from UIUC. Which one should I go with?

Job wise which is better considering the fact that I would be in huge debt after graduating from MS where UIUC is fully funded.

P.S. I am an international student

Hi

I have got an MS admit from Stanford ME without any financial aid and a fully funded MS offer from UIUC. Which one should I go with?

Job wise which is better considering the fact that I would be in huge debt after graduating from MS where UIUC is fully funded.

@abhishek: hey thats great news.. i'm deviating from the topic a little bit but can you please share your profile with me so that I can see if I will have any luck with my application since I have applied to both so far and have a reject from UIUC already and there has been no news so far from stanford. It would be of immense help. Thank you

on a personal note i think you should join Stanford since it is better ranked..

Hi

I would go with UIUC over Stanford on this one. UIUC is a top 5 ranked school so there's not much of an argument for Stanford being a better school. Stanford is not worth the $80k price tag, unless Stanford has certain classes you're very interested in or you prefer Stanford's location, but that's your personal preference.

Job wise I think they are on par with each other. Unless you get very lucky and meet someone at Stanford that you can work with to build a great company like Google, I don't think it's worth taking that big gamble.

Edited by brassgod

Hi

IMO: Job-wise, nobody cares which school you graduated from, not at least favoring Stanford over UIUC.

I am also inclining towards UIUC but finding it difficult to let go Stanford. I hope I would make the right decision in the end but right now I am very confused.