Want some PhD guidance

Capt_BlackAdder

Hello everyone,

I was just hoping on getting input from other PhD students.

I am a soon to be 3rd year engineering PhD student and I have passed my qualifying examinations. The problem I have at this moment is that I don't feel like I am doing any worthwhile research. Let me explain. Over the course of the past two years, my adviser has switched me between almost four projects. Needless to say, I am not an expert on any of the four topics because one does not become an expert in the course of four-five months. The topics are somewhat interrelated, but each of them can be categorized in a separate field of research. Currently, It does not seem like the thing I am working on is long term either. I have communicated this to my adviser, but he seems to ignore it and keep me busy with work. I should mention here that my advisor communicates very frequently with his students, that is he is not the type of adviser that asks what a student has done after a couple of weeks, he asks what a student has done after a couple of days.

The second biggest problem is, as I mentioned, that I don't feel like I'm actually doing PhD level work. In the end, all my adviser asks of me is to run a million simulations and then derive conclusions from simulations. That's it. All of it is something "suggested" by simulations. There is no solid theoretical backing to any of the work I have done. Sure there are some equations involved here and there, but these are just about the setup of the problem, there is no theoretical analysis. I always hoped that ultimately, we will dig into the theory and understand why something happens in a certain way, but he is just satisfied by simulations. This is something I feel that an undergraduate can do. Let me try to explain what type of research I do with an analogy: