SUNY stony brook vs. Hunter college-CUNY

jin_arthistory

Hi,

I'm vaciliating between two schools; suny syony brook and hunter college of cuny.

What's your opinion about both schools?

I'm an international student who interested in contemporary art.

In the case of stony brook, one professor shows big interest on me and promises TAship opportunity if I join with his research group. And I heard that Stony brook has quite good reputation in art history field. But, for me, the location far from NYC is not attractable since I want to stay in the city.

How about you guys' opinion?

Hunter college is as good as stony brook?

Please give me advices! :D

1: Have you been to New York City?

Hmm... It looks like the OP currently lives in New York City. ;)

Sorry to hear you've had such bad experiences with NYC. While a lot of what you have to say about it is valid, some of the figures you quote are pretty extreme. I pay less than $600/month for my share of a lovely Brooklyn brownstone apartment. It's not as big as the house I lived in back when I was in college in Ohio, but It's New York City, why spend that much time in your apartment? Commutes are long, sure, but I haven't had so much time for pleasure reading since I was in elementary school! Mid-sized cities are lovely, but as you said, you can't beat NYC's art scene and opportunities.

Look, like everywhere, there's good and bad. Obviously the OP already thinks New York is a swell place to live, I just don't want other people to read your post and dispair that by wanting to live in the Empire City they'll have to resign themselves to a life of loneliness and squalor.

Hmm... It looks like the OP currently lives in New York City. ;)