Personal Essay - Evaluate me!

Question asks me to explain an area of public affairs I would like to change/ interested in.

Excuse any typos, first draft!

To fans, players, coaches,referees and anyone else that may be involved, it is referred to as ‘theBeautiful Game’. In the United States, its name is soccer. Everywhere else? Wecall it football. No matter its name, its appeal is universal.

I am a referee infootball and am an active participant in the referee mentor program for closeto a thousand referees in the south of the United Kingdom. I help in mentoringnew referees who often complain about the fact that their minds are unable toprocess all that may be occurring on the field at one time. They may be easilyconfused when the game is being played at a frantic pace; or they may beinsecure and afraid of confrontation when overbearing parents or aggressivecoaches criticise their decisions. As a mentor, these situations are all too familiarto me. Nonetheless, with time, I feel I have developed into a manager on thefield, having the ability to control the flow of a game, mustering confidencewhen making a call and truly enjoying myself. However, despite all thecoaching, encouragement and practice, some referees will remain timid. The samecan be said for the management of public debt in recent years.

The financial crisis of2008 has prompted the hazard of public debt to be a frequent theme ofdiscussion amongst policy makers. Looking across the world and it is fair tocomment that borrowing has spiralled. The economy, or the ‘aggressive coaches’has stagnated due to the recession and many countries who were spending heavilyto combat this crisis can no longer play at this frantic pace. Football andpublic debt. An apt marriage.