third bachelor's or go for master's?

beatle08

Hi All -

I already have two undergrad degrees, one in music and one in biology, and have recently fallen in love with computer science. I randomly signed up for an intro programming class this past fall, really enjoyed it, and have continued taking comp sci class (and will be taking classes this summer).

In order to complete the pre-reqs just to be considered for admissions to a Masters program, it would take me at least another year and a half. By that time, I could finish another degree. However, I'm worried that a third bachelor's may make me appear somewhat indecisive and give the impression I am the dreaded "professional student". On the other hand, I've been working for two years, feel I have a much better grip on what I want to do with my life and the kinds of careers I would find fulfilling, and feel that getting another bachelor's would strengthen applications for Masters program in the future. Also, as a note, I'm not particularly interested in pursuing a degree in bioinformatics - while I like learning about biology, it doesn't excite me the way computer science does!

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

If you really enjoy programming, you should learn it on the side. It is pretty accessible for people to pick up and learn on their own. Don't pay for another degree. Most jobs require the knowledge of certain languages and experience. Maybe a bachelors degree (but you already have that), but not always. If you want a job in computer science (e.g. programming), you won't need to go for a masters degree. I worked for a tech start up, with guys who went to MIT to do computer science and guys who didn't finish college. It's kind of the great equalizer.