Thinking of applying--questions

aabb123

Hi all,

New member, and first post. I'm a recent graduate and thinking of applying to a masters program in Computer Science. I have done a good amount of research already but still have a few lingering questions I was hoping y'all could help me answer.

I am an undergraduate math degree, not computer science. Despite having a knack for math, I know pretty much nothing about computer science. So, I think I've narrowed down my options:

Track 1

• Take prerequisite undergraduate courses at target school (yes, I can only feasibly think about applying to one school)
  • Self-study and take CS GRE with class notes
  • Apply with CS GRE and revised GRE
    • Take prerequisite undergraduate courses at target school
    • Submit ONLY revised GRE scores
    • Apply
      • Buy a general theory CS textbook and self study for subject GRE
      • Apply with revised GRE and CS GRE
      • Possibly save money by not needing to take prerequisites?

Track 4

[*]Use revised GRE and apply. ALL IN, BABY!

If anyone has any advice or suggestions please let me know! Thanks! - Pete

It would help to know which school this is. A masters degree costs a whole lot, I wouldn't waste money taking more undergraduate courses...

Thanks for the responses. The school is Columbia, and that's the only one because I am also working in that area (So, I would be part time). this also means that cost is less of an issue, because I have tuition assistance. In terms of specializations, I think I want to try for a software- or architecture- oriented programs, although that could make little sense. Again, I am still a beginner in this process.