Electrical Engineer to Bioinformatics

Ranma

Hi, I'm looking for advice on getting into a Ph.D program in Bioinformatics. Specifically, 1) how can I improve my application and 2) what schools I can shoot for.

My background is: MS from SJSU with 3.4 GPA, and BS from UCSD with 2.9 GPA, both in Electrical Engineering. I believe I have on the GRE at least 760 Q 600 V 5.0 AW (I forgot as I really didn't care much about the GRE and took it blindly). I have about 3 years work exp, though not really research exp since engineer jobs are more development. But I am credited in one research paper as one of the authors for work done on the job. I don't believe I'll be able to get any special rec letters that are much above a generic form letter, due to lack of good longstanding contacts. My GPA is low because I never had passion for EE, but I believe I can explain my interest in biology.

What can I do to have a stronger application for Fall 2012? I have about 6 months before I can apply. Should I take some bio courses (and get the prof to write a letter)? Not sure if there is any lab work I can get into. Does my engineer background help for bioinformatics (I can program, demonstrable by the website I'm building, and have grad level statistics class with grade A-)?

I'm looking to apply to UC Santa Cruz and UC Davis, since they are in the area and seem like I have a reasonable chance of getting into. Should I look for more/less competitive schools? Is bioinformatics a popular field, or is it not popular and specialized, where someone with my background and interest would have an easy chance of getting in?

I appreciate any advice for me, thanks!

• 3 months later...