I am TERRIFIED

Safferz

I'm scheduled to write the GRE on July 18th. I've been so busy with school last term and summer courses (bad idea!) that I only started studying about six weeks out, and even then it's only been working through the 800 word Barron's list and making flashcards for review. I'm planning to start the Kaplan GRE math workbook on Monday (after I finish summer courses I'll have a solid three weeks to focus on the GRE), continuing to memorize words, and studying with my Barron's GRE book. I'll take my first PowerPrep test sometime during the first week of July.

I'm concerned that I haven't given myself enough time to prepare, seeing that so many posters on the forum have spent months studying before the test. I seem to know most of the words I've encountered in the Barron's book which has helped my confidence a little, knowing that the verbal score will be most important as a history student. I haven't had math in about six years, so we'll see how that goes. I just get so nervous knowing that this is the first real task I need to get done as application season approaches. I know the GRE is not the most important part of the application, but I'd really like to pull off a score that I'm happy with and won't leave me second guessing myself until I start hearing back from schools in the new year.

Hi Safferz,

I'm in the same boat as you. I wrote the GRE last summer and didn't get a very competitive score, so I'm rewriting it mid-July (2 days after you!).

That being said, I was taking an intensive Italian course that JUST ended, so I haven't had much time to study. I just started getting back into the prep a few days ago, and I have moments where I'll start freaking out because it's SO soon. I mean, less than a month!!

BUT, this is what my mantra of sorts has become:

1. If you don't do well, you can always retake it in the fall (even if it is the modified version. Apparently not that different to study for...just getting used to the format).