Applying in 12 and need advice/help!!

brown06

Hey there, I am applying to MFA programs this fall, in the meantime I have enrolled at Brandeis' post bacc program. I have very few art courses on my undergrad transcript and wanted my art to be able to be pushed and grow before going to my mfa.

I am really new to this all. Ive been working on contenders for my portfolio like a madperson, painting nonstop.

here is my website and portfolio is in there.

www.doraeliaruiz.com

i really dont know what art schools look for beyond some cohesiveness and whatnot. I mean in light of my "style" what schools should i look into?

Some info: i am only interested in painting. I dont at all like schools like SMFA (got into their post bacc with lots of aid, but turned it down bc i hated the schools concept and the location), I lived in nyc for 3 years and refuse to look at any schools there, I think its far too hard to live in the day to day, too many other stressors, the art scene there is NOT my thing or style, feels very avante garde.

artists that inspire me are miro, kandinsky,

and without sucking my soul out from me, do you think my work has what it takes to get into any mfa's? Very worried reading posts on here about how many years people keep applying and getting fully rejected. Plus my work does NOT resemble any one else's....

Ideally Id love to a state art school with a great reputation and funding or tuition remission b/c this brandeis post bacc aint cheap

You know, I wasn't holding out hope when I went to your website because your background sounded like a Sunday painter. However, your paintings have a "primitive verve" that I kind of like.

I perceive a couple of problems:

Your negative attitude towards anything not painting. Don't ever let on about that. Just talk about how committed you are to paint without mentioning anything else.