Undergrad Exploring Social Work

TheCrow

I'm an incoming freshman (though I completed two years of college while in high school). I'm intrigued by the field of social work... I know it's early, but how can I begin to seriously explore the field? Research in macro/mezzo topics is my primary interest, but I could see doing some clinical work on a part-time/ad-hoc basis.

I'm especially interested in the idea of an MSW/PhD program... can I get in by being a good student and getting involved in research, or are these programs reserved for prodigies? What GPA/GRE combinations are usual? I've only been able to find a few schools that offer such a program: the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; the University of Chicago (AM/PhD; only 1 or 2 a year); the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; the University of Pennsylvania; and Boston College. I imagine, therefore, that all of these programs are extremely competitive.

Where I am so far:

Intended Plan: BA, Educational Studies & Sociology; MA, Sociology (Combined, four-year program)

SAT: 1440/1600 (Rough Indicator of GRE?)

Research Experience: Institutional-Research Assistant (2011-2012), Summer Archival Research at local University

Social/Human Services Experience: AmeriCorps: 300 Hours of Service with At-Risk Teens; Teen-Court Attorney, First-Time Offender Deferral Program (3.5 Years); Vice-President, Mayor's Youth Council; Master of Ceremonies, City/County Human Affairs Awards Banquet; Completed NAMI 12-week Family-to-Family Course

Education Experience: Two Statewide Appointments, Education Policy; Represented State in Two International Education Projects; College Tutor; Co-Coordinated Summer Tutor Training at local College; Invited Speaker/Presenter at various Statewide Events.