Please tell me what to do

nabh

Hello everyone,

I know that this is a little early in the game to start being paranoid, but I am an intl student and this economic scene makes me really worried and just want to have an anchor.

I contacted a faculty member at one graduate school very early in the term. He was very responsive and at the end of our first, long conversation he urged me to send in the application as soon as possible, even though I suggested waiting until my grades are out in January. FYI this particular school is a Canadian one and only considers your application if you already have some prof there back you up.

The thing why I asked for delay was because my gpa last semester was markedly lower than the rest due to a constant threat then that I might have had to drop out of school for financial reasons. The subject that killed me was not relevant to the MSc program I am applying to however. My mission this semester is hence to improve it and then submit the application. I consulted many people and in the end, attached an explanation in the application but did not tell the prof.

With his strong urging I sent it in and all other papers were received, indicated by the online application. A month passed and last week the department secretary informed that they still have not transferred the one REC and transcripts to her yet. What?! She promises to write me as soon as the decision is made.

I wrote him two days ago and receive no answer until now. You may say that I am luckier than some of us but I think I have reasons to dread that something so promising in the beginning will turn into utter disappointment:

- It is my understanding that if they change their mind, a paper version of rejection is on the mail to me now. Is it true? Will they bother even emailing me about this?