Anyone willing to look at my list?

glasscandie

I'm trying to put together a finalized list of schools to apply to, and I was hoping someone could take a look at the schools and give me an opinion on whether I've applied to a broad enough range. I always hear stories about people who only apply to top-tier schools and then don't get in, and I don't want to be one of those people! I know this is a long post, so I truly appreciate anyone willing to give insight. I honestly think my list of schools is too long, but I don't know where to cut it down. If I felt I didn't have a chance at one of the programs, I wouldn't apply - which is why I'm asking for some help! I'm debating about applying to two masters programs in clinical psych (thesis track) as a backup plan - I do have experience in the field, and my junior thesis was involving schizophrenia. I don't know how that would look (doing clinical) b/c it would be my intention to apply to Ph.D programs when I graduated. My other option if I don't get in is to work in the field - I know I could secure a job at JHU doing what I'm doing now. I say clinical psych. for masters b/c I'm going to stay in Maryland if I don't get into a PhD program, and that's all that's offered around here, outside of the schools I'm applying for my PhD in.

I'm applying to animal behavior programs. I'm interested in neuro/cognitive ethology and pharmacology (animal models).

My stats for comparison:

Haven't taken GRE, but expect to do average to above average (doesn't everyone? lol)

Overall GPA 3.72, major/minor GPA 3.9

2 research assistant positions at Johns Hopkins, one with baboon models of drug abuse and one which will start in January examining cognition in rats

1 research assistant/clinical internship at a local psychiatric rehab. facility - did research for them and got clinical experience

1 publication in an undergraduate journal, expected publications from my JHU internships