American Art PhDs in New England area?

aojumper

I am about to begin the application process for a PhD, interested in Colonial and 19th c. American art, my career goal being research and teaching, maybe some curating on the side. I am applying to Harvard, MIT, BU, Yale and Brown. Here are my specs:

I have a 3.9 GPA in my master's program at a respected private top-50 university, finished at the top of my class and won the department academic award, have been very involved with extracurricular activities (pres. of the AH student assoc.) and curating the student gallery; I am older (31); GREs were ok - 600s verbal and only 5 on writing (my scores dropped from the 1st time I took it at 5.5 :( but don't have the time or $ to take a course; will be presenting at my first symposium this fall, but am thin on the curriculum vitae and work experience (I worked in the communications field prior to starting my masters); I know my recommenders will write very good letters. I have reading knowledge of French, but still need to learn German.

I am wondering if I have a prayer? Especially with a mediocre GRE score, lack of research/work experiences, and no German yet? Would appreciate thoughts, especially from anyone who got into those schools... as well as any "insider" info about the faculty and programs that might not be listed on their websites. Thank you.

sounds promising to me--you're definitely in the ballpark. a lot will depend on how well you articulate your interests in your personal statement and demonstrate your scholarly potential in your writing sample. gre scores don't really matter that much--and yours are fine--so i wouldn't worry about it too much.

sounds promising to me--you're definitely in the ballpark. a lot will depend on how well you articulate your interests in your personal statement and demonstrate your scholarly potential in your writing sample. gre scores don't really matter that much--and yours are fine--so i wouldn't worry about it too much.