How do I let admissions know something additional?

thompsonek88

Hi everyone!

I am applying to American's SIS, Denver's Josef Korbel, and Pitt's GSPIA. I plan to pursue the International Development program.

I have a BA in International Studies, but for some reason, economics classes were not required for the degree. The program was fairly new and I started the degree at the end of my sophomore year, so I didn't have open spots to take additional classes.

I graduated in May and I am applying to start graduate school fall 2012. I want to be as prepared for these programs as possible, so I plan to enroll in Macroeconomics and Microeconomics this spring and/or summer. How do I inform the schools of this? Because Economics is such an important part of these programs, I want the schools to know that I want to and will get experience in the field before potentially enrolling in their program.

Also, will the fact that I didn't take these courses during my four years as an undergrad hurt my chances of acceptance at these schools?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Since you will only be enrolling in these classes after admissions deadlines, you can tell the programs about your plans, but it might not count for much. Anyone can say they plan to do anything. It would carry more weight if you were taking the classes this fall, as the schools could actually be sent the grades you earned (they would require a transcript). If you do get grades before admissions decisions are made, definitely send your updated transcript to the schools you've applied to.

I was worried about that, but I'll figure something out. A couple of the schools allow you to write an additional essay explaining something that wasn't mentioned in the other application materials. I'm going to an admissions fair in a couple weeks; I'll try to get some more info then!