Harvard Extensions School Master's (a Curse or Neutral)? Applying to PhD programs.

yessir911

Hey,

I am a graduate student at Harvard University's Extension School, ALM: International Relations.

I have good grades (3.91 GPA), some great recommendations and high GRE scores (700 v, 700 Q), some great internships, many articles and 1 peer reviewed article.

Sadly, I was told many schools look down on the Harvard Extension School. I enrolled here as it was the best program I felt at the time for what I was looking for, a mix of online classes and on campus as I am working to save up living expenses for my PhD years. All my classes have been with Harvard College faculty, some of the world's best. I am a full-time student here and work full-time. The full time job will drop off when I am accepted to a PhD program.

I would like to apply to some top programs. I have heard a rumor that many graduate schools look down on Harvard Extension. I am not trying to pass it off on applications as Harvard College or GSAS in anyway. I was curious if anyone out there could shed some light on this topic.

In order to get into a top 10 International Relations program would I need to get a Master's from another school? I guess I am asking if I am in for any discrimination based on where I got my masters? Does such a thing exist? Do I need to "explain" the program on my SOP?

Though I'm no expert on Harvard Extension School, I think what happened was the idea that "no one is going to view this as you went to Harvard Harvard" got so internalized that it became exaggerated to the "no one cares that you went to HES" and "people look down on HES" lines you frequently hear.