"Research" for I/O psych

cherubie

I've been trying to see if I can dig up any information on this, but haven't been very successful. If this specific topic has been addressed, please redirect me.

Now to my question: What kind of research is "research experience" for I/O Psychology referring to? I'm new to this field (as you can tell), and have plenty of research experience, but I definitely do not work for a corporation, neither have I ever been in HR.

As for my own research experience, they include: behavioral psychology, lab-bench cancer and neuroscience research, and most significantly, my current job, which is in a cognitive neuroscience lab with research in relation to emotions and physiology. Now NONE of these are related to I/O research. Everywhere I've read, I see that research experience is one of the most important criteria, but most either says "psych research" or just "research". So is the type of research I have now what they're referring to, are they talking about ANY psychology-related research, or IO research specifically?

If anything, the main "relevant" experience related to IO is that I have been recruiting, training, and overseeing undergraduate (and any other new, below phD level people) in the lab.

Thanks everyone!

Edited by cherubie

most people will disagree with me, but being in the I/O program, and having spoken with I/O faculty and people on the admissions board, read extensively on selection literature, I can tell you this: GPA and GRE will be what they place the highest weight on. Research interest does not necessarily have to be specific to I/O. As long as you show 1) you know what you are doing, 2) you have experience with basic principles of design, analysis, 3) You have a well-informed interest in I/O, then it shouldn't be much of a problem.