Chicago MAPSS

jlauerman

Just curious if anybody has information regarding how rigorous admissions are for the MAPSS program. I've had a difficult time gathering any information at all about this.

Haven't taken the GRE yet, that's in November. GPA in my major is 3.6. I have a few extra-curricular activities and a few 'soft' activities that wouldn't hurt. As I understand it, MAPSS is eager to accept people from a variety of academic backgrounds with varying degrees of life experience. On this note, I've worked outside of school in the field I hope to write about for 8 years now.

Please point me in the direction of the thread that might have the answers, or if you have any knowledge you'd like to share I'd be deeply appreciative!

The majority opinion I've seen on this site and others related to grad admissions-- and please note that I'm talking about broad impressions from other people here-- is that MAPPS is a revenue-generating "condolence" program. I haven't ever attended MAPPS and I wouldn't hazard my own impression, but that's what many people say.

From what I understand, the MAPSS program, like any other terminal masters, is what you make of it. It is a "cash cow" but some students get full funding and many of those who do not get full funding still get accepted to very good PhD programs (with full funding) afterward.

Although I did not get accepted by the History program at Chicago in the last application cycle, one of the professors at Chicago in my field (African History) contacted me when she realized that I had been accepted by MAPSS. She offered to supervise me and said specifically that she was "always willing to help anyone who wants to study African history."

She also put me in contact with other MAPSS students she supervised. Many of these students are now at top PhD programs (Chicago, the Michigan joint PhD in Anthropology and History, etc).