Studying technology/games in education

pourtant

I'd like to study what often seems to be called "educational technology." Specifically, I'm interested in serious games and other interactive technologies for classroom use. My ultimate goal is to work for a game developer or a tech company as an education consultant, so I'm not planning to be a classroom teacher in the long-term or go to the PhD level in academia. I would, however, like to build up my credentials in the field of education, and study the science of learning.

I'm looking for guidance on programs as the Masters level and would love any suggestions of schools that would fit the bill.

A couple hitches:

1. I am one of those guilt-ridden people who dropped out of TFA after one year. In my case, it wasn't because of my teaching experience. I was a great teacher, the principal loved me, I got amazing evaluations. But I had to leave the city for personal reasons, and (luckily) another member of my TFA cohort was in need of a job and took my place. So, I took a few credits toward an M.A. while I was part of the program, but that's it. I'm not sure how to explain this in my applications.

2. I've been working in the non-profit world for my entire adult life while living in NYC. My savings are small and my partner has been unemployed for almost a year. I can't spend 30K+ on a masters degree from Harvard, Stanford, etc. If cost weren't a factor, I'd be looking at Harvard's Technology, Innovation, and Education program or Stanford's Learning Design and Technology program. Other programs I am considering are Oregon's Educational Technology and Virtual Schools program, or UT-Austin's Instructional Technology program.

I have roughly 8 years work experience in media and education:

1 year kindergarten classroom teaching (TFA)

2 years as a museum educator at a film museum, 1 year at a history museum

2 years as the education manager at an arts/media non-profit