Writing sample for MA

pianoise

Hi, I'm expecting to apply for MA programs in Philosophy (Political Philosophy) for the 2012-13 class, and I have a question for the writing sample.

To simply introduce myself, I graduated with a double major in political science and comparative literature with a thesis reflecting on the state-people relationship using materials from Hegel and Confucius. After looking around for programs of interest, I found out that quite a number of terminal MA programs (at least the ones that I'm applying to) expect a writing sample. I've also heard that philosophy programs put more importance in the sample than the GRE, transcript, etc.

My question is: do they look more at the logical structure of the paper, or does the content matter? I'm assuming its the former, but I thought I should still ask, because at this point of time it's still feasible, though not appealing, to write a new writing sample that deals with matters what someone doing political philosophy might consider. By feasible I mean I have the time and the resources, plus a professor who would guide me in my writing.

I'm guessing a possible answer could be "if you can do it, sure, why not?", but is it really necessary? Should I really rewrite, if possible? I mean, these MA programs seem to be not expecting prior background in Philosophy (according to their websites) but do they expect a writing sample that concerns certain topics in Philosophy? I'll do it if it is absolutely crucial, but if the new sample only affects little, then I think I'll just stick with my old sample and work more on the SOPs.

This year, NIU, for example, admitted 15 students from 130 applicants and only 5 received funding. It is extremely competitive, even at the MA level. You writing sample should demonstrate that you have a strong grasp of philosophy, and are a capable philosopher. Both the content and the logical structure matter, and both should be very good.