Hi,

I decided to start this thread, since I haven't seen much dedicated to this interdisciplinary programs, for people like me applying to PhD's this year, and to comment, advice, share profiles... I guess I'll start by writing about me.

I have an undergraduate degree in physical Oceanography from Mexico, a small school but the program in Oceanography is well known. I won a Fulbright scholarship to study a MS program in the US in applied mathematics, and thus I'm in my second year in the masters in applied mathematics in a top school (program was ranked #1 in the country last year) here in the US, currently doing a project about climate dynamics (ocean-air interaction) that possible could be published and now I'm looking forward for PhD applications, well not exactly, application process sucks and I am not too excited about it, but what has to be done has to be done.

Here are the schools to which I am considering in applying to:

NYU . - Center of Atmosphere Ocean Science (within Math department, i.e. Courant Institute).

UCSD .- Scripps Institute of Oceanography

UW - School of Oceanography

Miami University - Rosenstiel School of Marine Science

I've been thinking about WHOI (Woods Hole/MIT joint program), but not sure. They're are the only ones not waiving the toefl, which is annoying (i got 99 two years ago in the CBT)...

I have already contacted profesors from this institutions which whom I could worked with. Positive responses...