Wanting to get a MA (and eventually a PhD) in anthropology...not sure where to apply?

klperrigo

I know I'll be applying to Indiana University in my home state, but it's a pretty competitive program and I'm not sure if I'll get in.

I've also thought about New Mexico State University, but I need to think of a couple other schools. I'm just so stuck. :(

I've currently got a 3.2 GPA but I expect that to raise a bit this semester. I'm fairly certain I can write a strong statement of purpose and I will get good recommendations. I haven't taken the GRE yet but I'm going to in early December. I have worked at the archaeology labs in my school since I was a freshman (also participated in shovel tests and pedestrian surveys), I currently have an internship doing the NAGPRA inventory of human skeletal remains and I have had several "hands-on" classes, including one where I helped design an exhibit and I'm a member of Lambda Alpha. I have had a couple of withdrawals (one last semester, one this semester). I will be graduating in May, 2012.

What I need are some "safe" schools. Schools that I would probably be able to get into. Or even schools that I have a moderate chance of getting into. If it's out of state, I would prefer schools that are as cheap as out of state can be. I like warm weather too, but that's not a requirement. :)

If anyone could help me out with some ideas for graduate school it would be greatly appreciated!

*Wanting to study either bioarchaeology in Central/South America or human paleontology.

Edited by klperrigo

There is no such thing as a safe school. Every school is competitive. How you get in is based on your interest. You have a higher chance of getting in if your interest align with the person you want to work with.

Okay, how about I rephrase my original statement to, "Are there any smallish, cheap schools, that aren't top-tier, with decent anthropology programs, that you would suggest to someone with a 3.2 GPA who likes bioanth?"