Looking for Advice/Experience

KRC

Hello all, looking for some suggestions from those of you who have studied/are active professionals in Engineering or Construction Management.

I have a Bachelor of Arts in philosophy, and a Master of Arts in communications. My overall undergrad GPA is poor, and my major GPA's (dual major) are 3.6 and 3.7 respectively. My MA was awarded with distinction and my GPA there is a 4.0. GRE's 670M/570V/4.5Q (will retake--didn't study very much for them as they were not weighed very heavily at all where I received my MA).

Since receiving my BA I have worked as an operations manager in several different locations across the country and for several different companies, mostly doing supply chain and management stuff. I have two years supervisory/hands on experience, and four years management experience. During that time I "drifted" into something of a project management role from time to time; nothing major, but there have been spans of time over the last six years where what I was doing was construction project management. For a variety of reasons I want to leave OM and switch over to construction management. Without substantial work experience and with about as unrelated a degree as I can have for the field, I feel that pursuing a Masters is necessary to secure even an assistant PM job.

I have done a fair amount of planning as to how acquiring an Engineering or CM degree with basically no experience would work, and my thought is do take some courses at a community college or 4-year school in Eng of CM to get a feel for the field and maybe get some contacts (which I have already done), and then take a course or two (or three) as a non-matriculated student at the university I wish to attend, and provided all goes well, apply for acceptance to the program.