Canadian Programs

CdnRdr

Hey Everyone!!

I was wondering if there's anyone applying to Canadian masters programs.

I'm a recent undergrad graduate (Bsc in Biology) thinking of applying for Fall 2012 or 2013 since it's getting a bit late, but find myself completely overwhelmed by the sheer number of programs and schools that exist. I'm especially interested in conservation biology and also ecology programs. I'm not the strongest candidate (3.4 gpa (last two years), 3.0 overall from an ok (but by no means great) school, only 8 months of research experience so far (one poster presentation, secured my own funding for the summer, potentially a publication but it won't make it onto this years applications) but am currently working on getting into a lab as a volunteer, haven't done GRE (yet?) as most canadian programs don't require it, have one reference letter so far). Unfortunately I didn't really "figure it out" until the last two years of my program so my coursework overall wasn't as good as it could have been although there is a significant upward trend and I have lots of "A"'s in upper level undergrad courses, unfortunately my "last two years" GPA is dragged down by some 1st/2nd year courses (ochem/bchem) that I put off doing. Also since I didn't "figure it out" I don't have nearly as much research experience as I would like. If only I could go back and do it all again knowing what I know now? Isn't that always the case!?

Are there any schools/programs that you would recommend/avoid over others? Which schools are you applying to? How do you narrow it down!?!?!?! Any Canada specific advice for applications?

Thanks!!

Edited by CdnRdr