Operating systems research: what are my changes?

hellmean

Hi all,

I am an international applicant. I have a BS in Mathematics, and an MS in Finance from a reputable Russian University (considered to be among top 5 in russia for Math). I have a poor GPA because I started working since my first year. Will this be relevant by the way since this was a Russian school?

I have 4 yrs of working experience for a world leading accounting and consulting firm (it may be a bit controversial, I know). I am currently based in Russia where I am the leader of data assurance and complex business data analysis group. I am considered to be the leading person in this data analysis thing and will receive good recommendations from partners and directors (they have CS background). I also have professional qualification in Accounting as well (I had a strange career really).

My GRE is estimated at 750-800 Q and 540-640 V.

I did some tiny bit of research in my University. Specifically I have some experience with linux drives programming and microkernels, L4 and MACH. But, I have no publications at all and is not listed on any projects. I also have working knowledge of some 12 computer languages.

I figured I have no chance of getting into top 10 or even top 20 programs.

So I want to apply for a PhD at Yale (which is ranked exactly 20th). I found one professor there who is doing exactly the thing I dreamed all my life. This would be the perfect fit (I am now reading recent reaserch paperers in the field and think to write a letter to this professor in a couple of days).

I also consider UC Santa Cruz for various reasons. But apart from that I don't know any other good school for operating systems (and microkernels) research.

Could you recommend a school (PhD program)? and what are my changes at Yale?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by hellmean

• 3 weeks later...