Anthropology and Sociology program's focusing on warfare/political violence?

Kevin1990

I'm a current undergrad junior at a large state school on the East Coast who is majoring in History/International Studies, and is looking on making the jump to grad school once I finish my bachelors. I currently have a pretty good academic record overall with a GPA well above 3.0 but under 3.5 at this time. I also haven't taken the GRE at this time, however I'm planning to before this summer.

Over the course of my undergraduate career I've become very interested in the evolution of warfare and it's theorists since the late 19th century up until the modern day. I'm also interested in the origins of war and other forms of related violence like terrorism and insurgency. Furthermore, I've recently developed an interest in methodologies used to trace these evolutions. Even though my interest's overall are still pretty broad. Also,I really haven't done much shopping around in terms of programs since it is still fairly early for me to be looking.

Additionally, what grad school research I've done has largely been focused on poli sci/strategic studies and military history programs. However given alot of what I'm interested seems to exist in some areas of academic anthropology and sociology, I thought I should ask if there is any programs that could be recommended that I look at in this early stage of the process?

Thank's again,

I see two approaches here and I think you've intimated at both of them. One is the professional route and the other is the academic route.