Hello here, new to the forums would seek some kind direction

Hope to not offend, not carrying a flame shied. I graduated with MA in Poli Sci with a 3.5 nearly 15 years ago with no real distinction. Spent my time in the 90s as a Naval Officer flying around the MED and the Gulf. After that I was a suit in Europe both a Fortune 100 company and my own import export gig. When Spain housing boomed crushed I came back to the us to do the job I really only could-fly airplanes for the airlines, and it takes a passion of mine and turns me into bus driver at times.

I live in Melbourne Fl and I don't have the luxury of living really close to a PHD granting school. I have a well developed dissertation, thesis, which with diligent research should hold it largely unnassaible on a committee murderboard. I have some post graduate USAF International Security Credit on top of my MA. Additionally, I am near native speaker in Spanish.

Now the bad news, with neary two decades out of academia I must admit I do no remember how it works. I guess I could fly and try to do the course work in my little free time or I would need a assistanship/fellowship.

1.Does have any tips for me to get started?

2 Would cold calling a department chair be a worthwhile endeavor?

Thanks for waiting through the novel.

Shawn

First off, are you looking to get a PhD in political science, with specializations is IR and public policy, or are you looking more into a PhD in the field Public Policy, IR/International Affairs? If it's the latter your questions can probably be better asked in the government affairs forum: http://forum.thegradcafe.com/forum/11-government-affairs/ . I will note that in the latter work experience is sometimes/often more important at top programs.

Secondly, since you mentioned you haven't been in the academic world for around 15 years or so, I would first recommend taking the GRE. If you have already in the past 5 years than you should be okay in this aspect.